Thursday, April 19, 2012

Guinea-Bissau: Agreement between the military and 19 parties for a transition period of 2 years

The soldiers who led the coup on April 12 in Guinea-Bissau signed Wednesday with 19 opposition political parties agreed to constitutional and democratic stabilization in a transition period two years, announced there be an official source.

Under the agreement, "after the transfer of power to civilians sanctioned by the inauguration of the civil power established, including the transitional president, prime minister of the transition, the transitional government, the military command will return to barracks under submission to the civil power, "reported Artur Sanha, a leader of the Party for Social Renovation (PRS) of Kumba Yala.

The agreement foresees the creation of a National Transition Council as a legislative body to manage the process of democratic transition and the period of transition to two years.

The transition will end with the simultaneous presidential and legislative elections, the agreement says.

Sanha said the military command ordered the dissolution of Parliament, the impeachment of President and the dissolution of the government.

"The parties undertake to carry out the reform of the state security sector and defense and fight against drug trafficking and organized crime", says the agreement.

"The parties agree to adopt the Charter as an instrument of democratic transition that governs the creation, operation and control of established organs of political power," added the agreement.

The PAIGC has not participated in negotiations. The former ruling party had said he would not accept an agreement unconstitutional and undemocratic, whatever its nature. "

Carlos Vamain, leader of Guinea-Bissau Civic Forum, said that the agreement is unconstitutional and that he will not sign it.

The Democratic Movement of Guinea-Bissau has not signed the agreement, like the Social Democratic Front and the Union and for the change.